Tempting Storm

Lights out,

Nothing to see but the world ending before me.

There is nothing that I can do

But sit and watch it from the side window.

So windy outside

So cold.

I dare not go out

But it is oh so pretty.

Lit candle,

Sacred candle,

My only source of light

Except for the occasional flashes in the sky.

So dark,

Oh so dark.

I can barely see myself.

Thank God for the sparks in the sky.

But they are what led me here in the first place!

Damned sky, Damned storm!

Nothing to listen or see

Except for the ringing of classical music in my ears.

Please storm stop!

You are leading me down!

But you are so pretty, so tempting, so beautiful.

Such a pretty war.

I want to be in it,

But all I can do is sit and watch as the world ends before me.

published by York Daily Record:Teen Takeover-January 2008 issue, and Articulations:Student Poetry on Life-Spring 2007

Leave a comment

Filed under The Nature Child

Leave a Reply

